JESUS DEFINED LOVE AS OBEDIENCE

jesus defined love as obedience

If ye love me, keep my commandments. He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him. Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. He that loveth me not keepeth not my sayings: and the word which ye hear is not mine, but the Father’s which sent me. (John 14:15,21,23-24)

If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. Ye are my friends if ye do whatsoever I command you. (John 15:10,14)

Jesus is not only concerned about our coming to a knowledge of Him as our Lord and Savior but also the quality of our lives after salvation. We are told from the words of Jesus Himself that we are to do more than to believe Him but to obey Him. As we read the verses above from John 14:15,21,23-24; 15:10,14 we can readily see our love for Jesus and the Father is tied to obedience to His Word and commands. That is a different definition of love from what we see today. What constitutes loving God? OBEDIENCE. There’s always an action or act of obedience that shows love is there not just a belief. That obedience is never in the sense of earning or working to merit anything from Him but because we love Him.
Love has been redefined today to mean that if we love people we have to be accepting of everyone’s beliefs; tolerate sinful behavior; never be confronting or correcting; and never saying the truth of God’s Word that may prick someone’s conscience. Love not being equated with obedience really gets skewed when people try to define how we should love them. The issue should not be in questioning our love for them but do they love God and God defines what that love is: obedience to His Word and commands.

Pastor John Rasicci is the founder and Pastor of Word of His Grace Church in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, where we are building people who are building the Church. Pastor's ministry mission is to help people discover God's dream for their Life, the Local Church, and the Last Days' Harvest. With a strong emphasis on the grace of God and with a prophetic voice, Pastor John preaches and teaches in churches, conferences, and crusades both locally and throughout the world. He has produced books, tapes, and other teaching materials to empower, enable, and equip Believers with the Word of God. Pastor John is married to his wife Candy who with their three children, Krista, Joanna, John Anthony, and two son-in-laws, Matt and Doug, serve together in the ministry. After graduating from Kent State University, Pastor John pursued a career in professional baseball before accepting the call to the ministry. He and his wife, Candy, received their ministry training from Rhema Bible Training Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in #Behavior, #Believing, #Believing God, #Bible Truth, #Body of Christ, #Character, #Christ, #Christian, #Christian #Spirituality, #Christianity, #Disciples, #Discipleship, #Love, #Loving God, #Obedience, #Pleasing God, #Spiritual Growth, #Spiritual Life, Christian, Stability, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Categories
