MY LOT IN LIFE IS PLEASANT AND GOOD

surveyor lines

Psalm 16:5 The Lord is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot. 6 The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage.

I believe as Philippians 4:13 that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I believe I have what God says I have and I am who God says I am. I am willing to be used of the Lord in whatever way He sees fit. I also realize the wisdom of staying within the boundaries of what God has for me or the specific plan He designed for my life. We can expose ourselves to unnecessary temptation and hardship by striving to get into areas we aren’t equipped, gifted, or set by God.

It is true we can do all things through Christ but it is also true that God sets the members in the Body everyone of them as it pleases Him 1 Cor. 12:18 and we have to take heed to fulfill what He’s given us. Peter got overly concerned one time about what Jesus had for John to do and Jesus’ response was why are you worried about that, just follow me. “Peter seeing him saith to Jesus, Lord, and what shall this man do? 22 Jesus saith unto him, If I will that he tarry till I come, what is that to thee? follow thou me John 21:20-22.” In other words, don’t worry about what I have for someone else just concentrate on following Me and what I have for you. We have to take heed to the ministry that we’ve received in the Lord that we fulfill it (Col. 4:17).

I love Psalm 16:5, 6 because it tells us that the portion of inheritance God has measured out for us is both pleasant (delightful; sweet) and it is good (fair). It uses surveyors terms and architectural terms like “lot”, and “lines.” In the Old Testament period all of the land of Canaan was the lot of the children of Israel’s inheritance with every individual having a part of it. In the Numbers 33:54 says that every man’s inheritance shall be in the place where his lot falleth. If you add Psalm 16:5, 6 to this the measuring lines or district of the lot of our inheritance is pleasant and good. We don’t have to fight over or covet what another one gets (Luke 12:13-5). Instead of sulking, pouting, and wondering what our lot in life is, and instead of coveting what someone else has been given just say, “My lot in life is pleasant and good.” “What God has for me in this life is delightful, sweet, and fair.”

Pastor John Rasicci is the founder and Pastor of Word of His Grace Church in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, where we are building people who are building the Church. Pastor's ministry mission is to help people discover God's dream for their Life, the Local Church, and the Last Days' Harvest. With a strong emphasis on the grace of God and with a prophetic voice, Pastor John preaches and teaches in churches, conferences, and crusades both locally and throughout the world. He has produced books, tapes, and other teaching materials to empower, enable, and equip Believers with the Word of God. Pastor John is married to his wife Candy who with their three children, Krista, Joanna, John Anthony, and two son-in-laws, Matt and Doug, serve together in the ministry. After graduating from Kent State University, Pastor John pursued a career in professional baseball before accepting the call to the ministry. He and his wife, Candy, received their ministry training from Rhema Bible Training Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in #Bible Faith, #Bible Truth, #Character, #Christian, #Christian #Spirituality, #Christian's Race, #Confession, #Contentment, #Destiny, #Don't Quit, #Encouragement, #Goodness, #Grace, #Gratitude, #Holding Fast, #Maturity, #Obedience, #Perseverance, #Planted, #Pursuit, #Success, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Categories
