WHERE DO WE FIND RELIEF FOR PAIN?

relief for pain
Psalm 3:1-5 Lord, how are they increased that trouble me! many are they that rise up against me. 2 Many there be which say of my soul, There is no help for him in God. Selah.3 But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. 4 I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah. 5 I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me.

It is impossible to live in this earth and avoid things that cause emotional pain. A true Christian knows how to process the hurt and pain in a Biblical way. The Psalmist tells us in Psalm three that he took his pain unto the Lord and it is there that he found help, rest, and sustaining strength. The Bible is full of stories of people who did not process it properly (brother of the prodigal, Cain, Barnabas) and those who did (Joseph, Hannah, Jabez). From their experience as well as my own I have found some things which do work and where we can find relief. Thank God for the provisions we have access to because of the suffering of Jesus on the Cross and our redemption in Christ. All to the praise of the glory of His grace.
1. WORD OF GOD Romans 15:4; Psalm 138:2, 3
Romans 15:4 For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for our learning, that we through patience and comfort of the scriptures might have hope.
Psalm 138:2 I will worship toward thy holy temple, and praise thy name for thy lovingkindness and for thy truth: for thou hast magnified thy word above all thy name. 3 In the day when I cried thou answeredst me, and strengthenedst me with strength in my soul.

2. ANOINTING OF THE SPIRIT Isaiah 61:1-3; Luke 4:18.
Isaiah 61:1-3 The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me to preach good tidings unto the meek; he hath sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to them that are bound; 2 To proclaim the acceptable year of the Lord, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all that mourn; 3 To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.

3. COMFORT OF THE HOLY GHOST John 14:16-18; 15:26; 16:7-13; Romans 8:26.
John 14:16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever; 17 Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you. 18 I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

4. PRAYER Psalm 55:16-18; Luke 18:1.
Psalm 55:16 As for me, I will call upon God; and the Lord shall save me. 17 Evening, and morning, and at noon, will I pray, and cry aloud: and he shall hear my voice. 18 He hath delivered my soul in peace from the battle that was against me: for there were many with me.

5. FORGIVENESS Ephesians 4:31, 32.
Ephesians 4:31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: 32 And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

6. OUR SPIRIT Proverbs 18:14.
Proverb 18:14 The spirit of a man will sustain his infirmity; but a wounded spirit who can bear?

7. PRESENCE OF GOD Psalm 16:11; Exodus 33:14.
Psalm 16:11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fullness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

8. BELIEVING GOD Romans 15:13; 1 Peter 1:8
Romans 15:13 Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost.
1 Peter 1:8 Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:

Pastor John Rasicci is the founder and Pastor of Word of His Grace Church in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, where we are building people who are building the Church. Pastor's ministry mission is to help people discover God's dream for their Life, the Local Church, and the Last Days' Harvest. With a strong emphasis on the grace of God and with a prophetic voice, Pastor John preaches and teaches in churches, conferences, and crusades both locally and throughout the world. He has produced books, tapes, and other teaching materials to empower, enable, and equip Believers with the Word of God. Pastor John is married to his wife Candy who with their three children, Krista, Joanna, John Anthony, and two son-in-laws, Matt and Doug, serve together in the ministry. After graduating from Kent State University, Pastor John pursued a career in professional baseball before accepting the call to the ministry. He and his wife, Candy, received their ministry training from Rhema Bible Training Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in #All Powerful, #Almighty, #Believing God, #Bible Truth, #Christian, #Christian #Spirituality, #Christianity, #Circumstances, #Encouragement, #Relationship With God, #Spiritual Growth, #Spiritual Life, #Stability, #Stay Steady, #Struggle, #Victory, Christian, Comfort, Deliverance, Dependence, Emotional Pain, Grace, He Won and We Win, Healing at the Cross, Pain Relief, Peace, Peace of God, Processing Pain Biblically, Release Things, Stress, Stressing Out, The Comforter, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Categories
